Viral Video Game Blog

New to Playstation 3?…c’mere for a sec…

So Jamie got the super dope hookup for his birthday, a PS3! I know the same reason he wanted it is the same reason I wanted it, a top notch bluray player with a solid game system to back it up. In the nearly 3yrs that I’ve had mine, I’ve grown to love what the system has to offer, great bluray playback, sweet dvd upscaling, and a unique library of game exclusives that gets better every year. If I was just getting a PS3, here’s what I’d probably start with.

1. Killzone 2 – I know Jamie loved the 1st game and this one is better in every way, it’s a damn solid first person shooter, and a real showcase for graphics abilities….stands almost as tall as Gears of War 2 IMO, sometimes better.

2. Resistance:Fall of Man – Another solid FPS. I know it’s old (2006!), and part 2 is out….but there was something about this one that stuck with me, maybe the awesome never before seen weapons, maybe the cool alternate history vibe(aliens instead of nazis!), or just the tight intense gameplay….either way, I’m happy to have this in my library, it’s greatest hits priced too.

3. Ratchet & Clack Future:Tools of Destruction – This one will also be greatest hits priced come June 16th. If you like the mario style of platforming gameplay, this series always delivered. Crazy creative weapons(the series staple), huge levels, fun characters and storyline….and graphics that almost feel like a pixar movie, highly recommended from the Richie Raw stash.

4. Motorstorm:Pacific Rift – A seriously fun racing game, you ride bikes, trucks, atvs, all at the same time while gettin down and dirty, this one’s pretty exhilarating…it’s a sequel to 2006’s Motorstorm, and while that one was great and alot of fun too, some quirks held it back (not enough variety in tracks, load times were a beeeotch!). This one fixes all that, it’s not too complex, mad variety in tracks, split-screen muliplayer, and another graphics powerhouse to boot.

5. Uncharted:Drake’s Fortune – Super fun 3rd person action game in the style of Indiana Jones/Tomb Raider, check out my review for more thoughts, another fave. I can’t wait for the sequel that hopefully drops this year.

I’d say that’s a good start, I would’ve put Little Big Planet, but I know he’s got that….Metal Gear Solid 4, but I stand by that you should be a fan of the series if you wanna tread those waters. Just about all these games have demos that you can download from the Playstation Network, so give them a shot. Speaking of the PSN, there’s also some downloadable games on there worth having too, maybe I’ll hit u guys up later with some thoughts.

May 31, 2009 - Posted by | Normal Stuffs | , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment

  1. I think i’m going to try out ratchet and clank next with resistance next up. Killzone is VERY much on the radar. just dont have the money right now :\

    Comment by lurkerbelow | June 2, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

