Viral Video Game Blog

World War Z and Star Wars?

I read a book recently called World War Z. It’s about every gamers true dream, a zombie apocalypse. (preferably if I am armed with an endless supply of shotgun bullets amirite?) I found it to be enjoyable and one that was quite hard to put down. The cutting up of the stories at first were too short but just enough of a bread crumb trail for me to continue on. I wont blow anything but once I finished it made sense. The invasion started slow then blew up into a full on war. So, the later stories really started to hit home. I highly recommend it for any zombie fiction fan. There are rumors the movie is in Pre-Production , linked to Brad Pitt’s Production Company, but that fate has been layed upon many movie, known as Development Hell. I’m wayyy off my point right now but the reason for writing this was that I stumbled upon Mark Hamil’s (I dont even need to mention who that is) wikipedia entry. As well as playing the Joker in the Animated Batman series (yes I watched this), “Hamill voiced the character of Todd Wanio in World War Z, a critically acclaimed audiobook based on Max Brooks’ successful imitation of Studs Terkel’s “The Good War”, relating the stories of survivors from the first global zombie war.”

Wild! GoGo Mark Hamil.

June 11, 2009 - Posted by | Normal Stuffs | , , ,

8 Comments

  1. This is the follow up to The Zombie Survival Guide right? I remember reading that on the train, people lookin at me like I was nutz, in N.Philly, I’m not even gonna point out the irony LOL. I definitely gotta check out WWZ.

    Comment by richieraw | June 11, 2009

  2. Yep. it’s good stuff. it’s like reading a newspaper though..

    Comment by lurkerbelow | June 11, 2009

  3. World War Z

    LOVE this book. The zombie survival guide was a more of a tounge in cheek look at zombies and surviving them. This is more of a fictional acount of how the world survives the outbreak.

    AWESOME book.

    Comment by atomiczombie79 | June 11, 2009

  4. I guess I could give the book another chance. The lack of cohesive plot, at least in the beginning, was what put me off. It didn’t seem like a story and I felt no connection to the character. However, since then I’ve heard numerous good things from a wide array of people. Maybe I’ll read it in the future.

    Plus, I’m more of a vampire kind of gal, not zombies 😉

    Comment by Jessica | June 11, 2009

  5. Vampires are so fake
    🙂

    Comment by atomiczombie79 | June 11, 2009

  6. what about vampire zombies?

    Comment by lurkerbelow | June 11, 2009

  7. There’s no script for World War Z yet, as far as I know. I think it will be very hard to create a movie from that book – since there is no main character, and no consistent plot. But I loved the book, don’t get me wrong.

    For more Zombie info check out my Zombie Research Society blog at:

    http://www.ZombieResearch.net

    Hope you like it, and keep up the good work!

    AM

    Comment by A. Morisson | June 11, 2009

  8. Thanks! The lacking of a main character, I completely agree on. But can there be a multiple “lead” roles feature? My reasoning, and first, it’s a television show so this is not apples to apples but, Lost has how many stories going at once? If you say jack is the main, well what about kate, or sawyer, or ben, or now jacob! Before it was charlie, hurley, echo. It would be an ambitious project none-the-less.

    Comment by lurkerbelow | June 11, 2009


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

