Viral Video Game Blog

Druid Q+A

Herooooo. Good morning. A very nice wakeup call appeared as I downloaded some podcasts, most notably the new Giant Bomb, which is always enjoyable. Blizzard released a question and answer session for Druid’s. Of course the restoration dominance was widly covered as well as why they made the distinction of Cats and Bear talents in the Feral Tree. It was really needed. When I was raiding on one of my druids, one of them being feral, I always felt out of place when I wasn’t tanking in bear form. Although I could do dps as cat it was never exactly meaning-full dps. Of course it was better than say a Protection Paladin or Warrior but oh well. You cant have your cake and eat it too right? There’s always the discussion of PVP viability for all classes and I have to admit that in Battlegrounds, every one is viable. Sometimes you win, sometimes you lose. That’s just a fact of life. In Arena, which has become increasingly ugly looking over time, I dont think many people care. I stand by my answer make cast bars different in arena. The players will adapt.

On the pve end of this yo-yo article I have to laugh at how Greg, the lead dev, plays up this idea that Bear Tanks were never really viable tanks. It’s hard to have one specific tank to take you through the whole game. Certain fights required certain things. And all the tanks have specific abilities that make them good in certain situations. Out of the 3 bc tanks, only the Warrior was the least used in my experience. They were all enjoying the insane dominance in early PVP. (Our friend created a warrior for this reason and I quote “I’m tired of losing”). The restoration side of things is funny. I’ve always felt they’re perfectly fine. Resto fits my playstyle and the inception of Dual Spec made that possible for a short while.

Blizzard like lost, leaves the best for last. It’s interesting to note that ONE artist did all those forms. Wild. Wild. Wild. We have multiple designers here and they have one. Mind Boggling.

“Q: For the official word, do we have plans to update more druid form models at some point in the future?

Ghostcrawler: I know for a fact that the current Travel Form and Aquatic Form are loathed by the artist who redid bear and cat. We do have plans to update additional forms at some point in the future. ”

July 15, 2009 - Posted by | Normal Stuffs | , , , , , , ,

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

