Viral Video Game Blog

Friday night Horror: Dawn of the Dead

I apologize for my Friday night absence and another late column but I’m the victim here. I was maliciously goaded into loading a horrible mean videogame to my poor innocent laptop. And unfortunately World of Warcraft undid a few of my specialized modifications to some of my more delicate registry entries. Unfortunately I’m stupid and didn’t back up my registry before performing an install. I know silly me. So now I’m looking for a new operating system, preferably something Linux based. Anyhow I apologize I had to wait till I got into work to load this. So here is my Monday morning Friday Night post in its entirety.

Hello again Fiends for another Friday night Horror Corner. Tonight I bring you the second in the series of Zombie films from George A Romero. Dawn of The Dead released in 1978 is not much of a carry over from the first film its more of a secondary look at the zombie apocalypse from a different perspective. Being such, the movie contains none of the characters or plot lines from the first film. This film centers around several survivors of the zombie outbreak who steal a helicopter and try to fly themselves to the Canadian wilderness. Passing over a shopping mall they decide to find food and possible fuel. After surveying the area they decide to make the shopping mall safe and make a life there. I don’t want to ruin the movie and tell you about the bikers and the helicopter and the escape and things so I’ll leave the storytelling to Romero. However, I will tell you that this movie is a must see, as it carries the social warnings of excess and consumer addictions. It shows the mundane and empty feelings from an overly materialistic existence. Romero again doesn’t miss a chance to throw a few social commentaries into his films. So education and entertainment seem to be par for the course so far.

REMAKE (2004)

I decided to include a blurb about the remake, as all of the Romero Originals have had remakes made for them. The remake of this movie is the same premise and location and has many many similarities to the original however there are major plotline differences. So rather than being a remake this film is more of an homage to the original story as most of the remakes actually are however, as much as this story is different it is still a respectable and entertaining story.

Watch both in one night to compare the similarities and differences. Or be like me and bring in two TV’s and watch them simultaneously. Yes I really did that once.

I’m not proud of it.

August 10, 2009 - Posted by | The Horror Corner | , , , ,

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

