Viral Video Game Blog

GBU Game Review for God of War III (PS3)

Finally, the long awaited end to the trilogy is here….how’s it hold up for me? 10/10….yeah I said it, deal with it.

The Good – Let me get this outta the way right now, no, this game is not perfect, nor is any game. The problem is, a lot of cats assume a 10 means just that, to them, I say grow up. Since no game is perfect, then what’s the point of the 10 score? I’m going go with how great I thought my experience was, however flawed it can be.

Continuing the Greek mythology themed story, God of War III picks right up where II left off….I would go into some story details, but my partner-n-crime is just about finishing II and I can’t go spoiling it for the homie. I will say this though, the first level in III has got to be one of the best first levels I’ve ever played, it couldn’t have left a better impression on me. Kratos is still the butt kicking spartan out for revenge, letting nothing stand in his way. The graphics are outstanding, definitely up there with games like Gears of War 2 and Uncharted 2. The way the camera swings in, out, and all about, all in real time without the action missing a beat….impressive indeed. This game sets a new standard for scale in boss fights, there are times where Kratos isn’t but a spot on the screen in comparison to what’s going on around him.

The gameplay sticks to the ‘if ain’t broke, don’t fix it’ formula. But they do add some very welcome tweaks and changes. The hack-n-slash fighting remains smooth, responsive, and as rewarding as ever. New moves, new ways of handling weapon switching with magic associated with said weapon, item use, etc, are awesome additions. I’ve always liked the GoW puzzles, but sometimes they took too long to figure out, everything flows much quicker, pushing blocks(or whatever) gets a speed boost, and rotating stuff is a lot more streamlined, just hit the R stick and Kratos quickly spins stuff himself. Fights are more epic, levels are incredibly huge, everything is just done better. I was also very satisfied with the outcome, though it may not be for everyone. In the end, for me, this is the cream of the crop for action games.

The Bad – If God of War 1 & 2 weren’t your cup of tea, then I don’t know why you’re reading this. This game won’t change your mind unless you REALLY like awesome graphics. There’s a couple of levels that don’t really match up with the insanity and impressiveness of the rest of the game.

The Ugly – Oh jeez, I can go anywhere with this….Kratos is on a mission to kill gods, and it wouldn’t be God of War if he wasn’t getting his way. The way he dispatches some of these guys, really push the gore factor in gaming.

March 26, 2010 - Posted by | Good Bad and the Ugly - Game Reviews | , ,

1 Comment

  1. DAMN. 10/10

    Comment by lurkerbelow | April 1, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

