Viral Video Game Blog

The Horror Corner – Nightmare on Elm St. – 2010 Remake

I’m not one to poo-poo hollyweird’s trend of the past decade. Unnecessarily remaking classic horror films. Sure, it shows a lack of creativity, but you know what? I don’t have to go see them….I can just ignore them. Won’t tarnish my love of some of these flix. But they’re here to stay, and surprise….I actually like some of these remakes. Not more than their original counterparts of course, but some of them are a chill way to kill 90 minutes. Except for this one.

I found this reboot of my beloved Elm St. to be bland, soulless, and just didn’t have a good flow to it. Don’t get it messed up, I really wanted to like this one. I thought the trailer looked tight, Jackie Earle Haley as Freddy looked good, there looked to be some cool callbacks of the original. I mean, Freddy looked like he was gonna be scary again, hell yeah I was excited. What I got was a bunch of cheap jump scares, most of which you’ll see coming a mile away. A slow, meandering story, and acting that needed Red Bull to jolt some interest in the thing.

And the callbacks…..wow, lame. The infamous wall scene, where Freddy’s form pushes out of a wall as he watches a girl sleep. Totally convincing effect, even now, was done as cheap as possible, with spandex(!). They CG that bad boy here, and boy does it look bad. The glove in the bathtub? Why did they even bother. The Tina death scene where she’s dragged up a wall, was so tame here. They would’ve been better off just doing there own thing. And changes to Freddy’s backstory….ok, they’re trying to do their own thing there. But it didn’t make alot of sense. They try to elicit some false sympathy for a little while, you know, maybe Freddy didn’t molest and kill those kids. Oh wait, Freddy just molested the kids in this one. Such a weird change, like, what’s the point of the glove then?

Things get a little interesting in the 3rd act, but at this point I really didn’t care. About the only thing that maybe saw some improvement on the original, was the very last scene with the mother. It was pretty cool here. So, it’s not the worst horror movie I’ve seen….just one of the more boring ones. I’m giving it a generous 4 outta 10.

June 5, 2010 - Posted by | The Horror Corner | , , ,

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

