Viral Video Game Blog

The Witcher – Impressions

With Steam sales goin crazy, having a pretty well equipped PC, and finally…..final-freaking-ly, I’ve set up my PC sitting arrangement quite comfortably. I can get into some of the stuff I’ve been wanting to try. I’ve always wanted to play The Witcher, and after a cool E3 trailer for the sequel, it seemed the time was right.

It’s a fantasy RPG where you plays as Geralt, a witcher(durr). Taking on quests, slaying beasts, plowing wenches(did I just type that?), and everything else that makes this type of game fun to play. It’s not really open world like an Oblivion, more like open section. Each chapter is a different area where you’ll run around taking on jobs, meeting some interesting folk, then following through with an interesting climax. You can’t go back once you’re done. The action is simple yet fun, the dialog trees aren’t too ham fisted, and the plot is pretty dang engrossing.  You’ve got choices, but it’s not the now cliche, good or bad system we’ve gotten used to. Example, one of the townsfolk who lives on the riverbank, offers to pay you to get rid of the nearby drowners(black lagoon sea monsters). You do the deed, some shady elves show up to take his supplies that are outside. Some of their guys are sick and need it, blah blah blah….do you let them? Or do you protect your interests? Well….since these elvin bustas threatened me to begin with, I layed waste to their bitch-asses. No good or bad….I just did my thing. And it was awesome.

It’s one of those games that’ll leave you like, “just one more quest”. Of course there’s multiple strings to said quests, and who knows how long they can last. Sure it’s got some glaring jankiness, but we’ll worry about that later. A review will definitely be coming…..it is an RPG, so I’ve no idea how long it’ll take me. I just know I’m loving this game….it’s got me, at work, thinking about going home just to play. As much as I dig the games I play(wouldn’t play them if they sucked, who has the time?), it’s only once in a blue where a game sticks with me like this.  Good stuff.

June 30, 2010 - Posted by | Normal Stuffs | , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment

  1. […] The Witcher – Impressions « Video Game Blog by a pair of Old Dudes. […]

    Pingback by GAMES - Around 6 29 10 - Daily News | June 30, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

