Viral Video Game Blog

Starcraft 2 First Impressions

*Gazes off into the distance* Oh Starcraft….you have eaten me up like the plant from Little Shop of Horrors did just about…everything?

Your sweet, current, graphics. Your movie cutscenes that arent horridly gamerfied. Hell, I don’t even know what that means but it sounded appropriate. Maybe it’s the sludge of sugar I just downed in my iced coffee talking. For the past 3 days Starcraft has been a trending topic on twitter. This is Scary Justin Bieber zone. See: Very Serious. And, for the past 2 nights I’ve played heavy amounts of Starcraft. Starcraft is taking over the world and mine. See: this is awesome.

Atomic Zombie and I first started out playing 2 player vs the computer. In our first game I had to shake off the rust of not playing since beta and Mr Zombie, the rust of the past 10 years. Maybe our problem was choosing Terran out of the gate. Though I’ve always had luck as Terran the Giant bomb guys say that playing Terran is playing “Training Wheels Starcraft” Anyhow…We got beat DOWN. The second game we played was much better. We played this time as Protoss and I was able to get up a managable economy while building a stellar defense. My focus was more on just enough ground units for defense while I build up air superiority with Void Rays, a mother ship, and a handful of Carriers for heavy support. Atomic Zombie in the meantime played a wonderful defensive card moving in his forces behind the 2 ai teams as they ran up my ramp of death where I had built 6 turrets there.  It was destruction like only two bro’s can do based on years of gaming together experience.

It was then I counter attacked and found the zerg base to be mostly undefended. I layed waste to the first computer team. The second team didn’t fare much better but had >3< bases. How they didn’t completely overrun us is beyond me but they didn’t. Oh well..that’s AI for you.

Last night I dived headfirst into the Campaign and I must admit I’m loving every  moment of it.  The game starts off  a little normal  but that first BLAM in your face with a nuclear missle strike was when I was able to do upgrades. Yes, I’m that boring. The first one available to me out of the two researches were Zerg. The other being Protoss.  I choose to have the bunkers with GIANT FUCKING GUNS ON TOP also known as Shrike Turrets.   I cannot describe the chills I had when reading that.  Yes, I turtle. So.fucking.what.  You got a problem? Just try to invade this base SON.  Now, I really don’t remember the campaign mode from SC1 – it’s been since freshman year of college since I ran through it so, I don’t know if there were upgrades like this in place.  It’s pretty badass and unstoppable vs normal AI.  I’m also enjoying the ability, though less so, to upgrade units. I find them to be of less use than just outright buying Merc’s who kick so much fucking ass it’s not even funny. They’re bought in the campaign mode by visiting Graven Hill in the cantina. They’re like merc units from Warcraft 3. They mirror almost every ground unit you gain too.  The list of Merc Units in Starcraft 2 are, in case you were wondering, are War Pigs, Devil Dogs, hammer Securities, Spartan Company, Siege breaks, Hel’s Angels and Dusk Wings.  I found the Spartan company to be of great use as during the campaign I built up a bunch of Goliath’s. I know Atomic Zombie is currently exploding as he reads this because building Robots and taking over a world is his RL fantasy.

I’ll end this long post because I need to save something for our FIRST VIDEO REVIEW O-M-G, but, I’m loving the achievement system.  I’m finding myself wanting to explore the maps  and throttle my victory rushes to make sure I get my achievements. While it’s being an achievement whore that is totally lame, I find that it really exposes the entire gameplay available. Just like how Fallout 3 encouraged you to play THE ENTIRE GAME. It’s not really tossed in for the sake of being tossed in. There are those things available (such as watch 10 TV reports). Blizzard come here, seriously,  you guys just constantly produce High Quality games and I love you for this.

July 29, 2010 - Posted by | Normal Stuffs | , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment

  1. This is really great content. Thanks a lot for this. I put it on my website where you can also find latest video game and technology news and reviews . I linked back to your site and bookmarked it so I can see your new posts

    Comment by Smokey King | July 31, 2010


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

