Viral Video Game Blog

Bioshock Infinite – Trailer Thoughts

Rich Dog here, after a long hiatus of drawing a blank on what to write about, I just wanna express how cool I think this trailer is. Props to Jamie for throwin up the trailer before I even knew what Irrational Games was announcing. I knew they were showing something that day, totally forgot though. I was sure it was going to be a new IP. Ah well, anyways.

The first Bioshock was probably my favorite game of ‘07. That jawn grabbed me right off the bat and I was compelled all the way through. What an awesome gaming experience, it’s not often where you get a twist ending in a game of Shyamalan proportions….pre Village of course, his movies kinda blow now. His new one looks interesting though. Ok, back on topic, Bioshock was definitely one of those 360 graphical showstoppers as Jamie mentioned. Allow me to go to the well once more, Bioshock 2 on the other hand, “I was not that impressed with BioShock 2 it was still a quality game”. Nail on the head bro…..I really dig Bioshock 2, but it’s more like Bioshock 1.5. More of the same game if you will, which isn’t a bad thing. It just took a long while for the game to come into it’s own for me, being a true Big Daddy is an interesting dynamic, and it’s still mad fun. It was just…..unnecessary. The first game was such a unique thing, it’s hard to make that kinda lightning strike twice. Which bring us to how this new game looks to be.

Irrational Games brought us the first Bioshock….the core team did not make part 2. They kept some people on board obviously. But Bioshock Infinite will probably be considered more so a true sequel. Moving from the rich underwater world of the 50s and 60s, we’re being moved into a city in the skies set in 1912. Throw some political and historical themes with mystery in for good measure, and here you have the city of Columbia, the yang to Rapture’s ying. The trailer may be CG, but if the previous Bioshock trailers were anything to go by, the final game probably isn’t far from it. First person shooting while wielding powers will make a return. The mechanical looking person with an actual working heart looks to be just as creepy as it was the first time I saw a Big Daddy. Apparently the narrative isn’t connected to the Bioshocks, so it should be a fresh story and hopefully something that will keep me interested till the end. My only beef? The dang thing doesn’t drop till 2012, man, that’s a long way off to introduce a game. I am looking forward to it though. And the music, can’t wait to hear it, Bioshock remains one of my favorite scores for a game. Dropping on PC, 360, and PS3 sometime in 2012.

August 13, 2010 - Posted by | Normal Stuffs | , , , , , , ,

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

